Unanswered topics Active topics

Shock absorbers

The second home of www.cityzen.sg
HappyCity
3000rpm
3000rpm

Shock absorbers

Post by HappyCity » Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:52 pm

Just sent my city for tyres roatation @ Autobacs and they inform me that my front left shock absorber arm had worn out and it is causing uneven wear on my tyres. They quoted me $1700 for the whole set.
I have a few questions hope you all bros can advise me as I am new to this shock absorbers thing:
1) I do not know the brand they quote me, but is $1700 a resonable price?
2) changing the whole shock absorbers includes the suspension as well?
3) should I go back to Kah motor to let them verify this if this is true?

any bros can recommend me a good workshop to change it and not so expensive? $1700 is indeed costing my pocket a big hole.

Tks all in advance.

Narcosis
5000rpm
5000rpm

Post by Narcosis » Fri Jul 26, 2013 7:54 am

Best to go back to KAH motors to get it verify if your car is still under warranty.

isvtec
4000rpm
4000rpm

Re: Shock absorbers

Post by isvtec » Sat Jul 27, 2013 8:33 pm

HappyCity wrote:Just sent my city for tyres roatation @ Autobacs and they inform me that my front left shock absorber arm had worn out and it is causing uneven wear on my tyres. They quoted me $1700 for the whole set.
I have a few questions hope you all bros can advise me as I am new to this shock absorbers thing:

any bros can recommend me a good workshop to change it and not so expensive? $1700 is indeed costing my pocket a big hole.

Tks all in advance.
not an expert nor car mech. but here's my answer based on what i know / done:

S$1700 is a lot for dampers only. i changed all 4 (mine is 4G year 2006) for much less at vision garage.
shock absorbers (also known as dampers - better name as it is what it does) is a part of what we call suspension. the whole suspension system consist of frame, springs, dampers, and so on.